Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

To submit a title for review please read the submission guidelines

Titlesort descending Author/Editor Series Publisher Year Issue P Review Author
Warsaw Ghetto: the 45th Anniversary of the Uprising, The Interpress Publishers 1990 M/J 90 13
Warsaw is My Country: The Story of Krstyna Bierzynska Holmgren, Beth Academic Studies Press 2018 M/J 2019 30 Silverburg, Sanford R.
Warsaw. The Jewish Metropolis: Essays in Honor of the 75th Birthday of Professor Antony Polonsky. Dynner, Glenn, Guesnet, Francois Brill 2015 F/M 16 6 Levy, David B
Warsaw: A Novel of Resistance Litewka, Albert Sheridan Square Press 1989 F/M 90 18
Was Hitler a Riddle? Western Democracies and National Socialism Ascher, Abraham Stanford University Press 2012 M/J13 16
Was I a Spy? Kochmanski, Bronislaw, Rosen, Sara, Weingarten, Bernice Helena Koshmansk Weingarten 2002 M/J 03 18
Washday on Noahs Ark Rounds, Glen Holiday 1985 S/O 85 6
Watch Out for Flying Kids! How Two Circuses, Two Countries, and Nine Kids Confront Conflict and Build Community Levinson, Cynthia Peachtree 2015 S/O 2015 37 Rapp, Andrea
Watch the Stars Come Out Levinson, Riki M/J 86 5
Watch the Stars Come Out Levinson, Riki, Goode, Diane Dutton 1985 A/M 86 5
Watcher in the Shadows, The Moriarty, Chris, Edward Geyer, Mark Harcourt 2013 S/O13 4
Watermelon in the Sukkah, A Rouss, Sylvia A., Iosa, Ann Kar-Ben 2013 S/O13 14
Wats an Israel? Burstein, Chaya M. N/D 83 10
Way into Encountering God in Judaism, The Gillman, Neil Jewish Lights Publishing 2000 S/O 01 13
Way into Jewish Prayer, The Hoffman, Lawrence A. Jewish Lights Publishing 2000 S/O 01 15
Way into Judaism and the Environment, The Benstein, Jeremy Jewihs Lights 2007 S/O 07 44
Way into the Varieties of Jewishness Fishman, Sylvia Barack The Way Into Series Jewish Lights Publishing 2007 S/O 07 47
Way into Tikkun Olam, The Dorff, Elliot N. Repairing the World Jewish Lights Publishing 2005 M/J 06 25
Way Into Torah, The Cohen, Norman J. Jewish Lights Publishing 2000 S/O 01 10
Way Jews Lived: Five Hundred Years of Printed Word and Images, The Harris, Constance McFarland 2009 M/J 10 33
Way Meat Loves Salt, The: A Cinderella Tale from the Jewish Tradition Jaffe, Nina Holt 1998 F/M 99 18
Way of Splendor: Jewish Mysticism and Modern Psychology (updated 25th ed.), The Hoffman, Edward Jewish Mysticism and Modern Psychology Rowman & Littlefield 2007 S/O 08 24
Way of the Boundary Crosser, The: An Introduction to Jewish Flexidoxy Winkler, Gershon Aronson 1998 S/O 98 30-31
Way too Much Challah Dough Shulman, Goldie, Romanenko, Vitaliy Hachai 2006 N/D 06 13-14
Wayfarer in a World in Upheaveal, A Ginsburg, Bernard L. Studies in Judaica and the Holocaust, 12 Borgo Press 1993 F/M 95 19
Wayfarers, The Tower, Stuart F. Lighthouse Press 2003 S/O 04 10
Wayward Moon, The Weizman, Janice Yotzeret Publishing 2012 S/O13 49
We Are Here: Memories of the Lithuanian Holocaust Cassedy, Ellen University of Nebraska Press 2012 M/J13 21
We Are So Chrashing Your Bar Mitzvah! Rosenbloom, Fiona Hyperion 2007 S/O 07 17
We are Strangers Here: An Enemy Alien in Prison in 1940 Borchard, Ruth Vallentine Mitchell 2008 F/M 09 20
We Are Their Voice: Young People Respond to the Holocaust Kacer, Kathy Second Story 2012 FM13 9
We Are Witnesses: The Diaries of Five Teenagers Who Died in the Holocaust Boas, Jacob Holt 1995 N/D 95 17
We Built Jerusalem: Tales of Pioneering Days Liphshitz, Arye, Louvish, Misha Cornwall Press 1985 S/O 85 3
We Came Through Ellis Island: The Immigrant Adventures of Emma Markowitz Thompson, Gare I Am American Series National Geographic Society 2003 S/O 03 47-48
We Can Do Mitzvos Around the Jewish Year Zoldan, Yael Feldheim 2014 M/J 15 16 Pastcan, Ben
We Can Do Mitzvos from Aleph to Tav Zoldan, Yael, Allen, Shira Feldheim 2009 F/M 10 19
We Can Find A Way: A Hachnosas Orchim Inclusion Story Rosenfeld, Dina H., Wummer, Amy Hachai Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levitan, Rebecca
We Celebrate Hanukkah Hughes, Susan, Ohm-Ericksen, Cecilia Bobbie Kalman The Holidays and Festival Series Crabtree Publishers 1986 M/J 87 6
We Gave the World Moses and Bagels: Art and Wisdom of Jewish Children Heller, David JPS 2000 F/M 01 13
We Jews Rosenzweig, Efraim M. O 79 6
We Jews: Who are We and What Should We Do? Steinsaltz, Adin Jossey-Bass 2005 S/O 05 52-53
We Just Want to Live Here: A Palestinian Teenager, an Israeli Teenager an Unlikely Friendship Rifai, Amal St. Martin's 2003 F/M 04 41
We Live in Israel Levine, Gemma S/O 84 10
We Look Like the Enemy: The Hidden Story of Israels Jews from Arab Lands Shabi, Rachel Walker & Company 2008 N/D 10 23-24
We Need to Talk: What Happens When Looking Thin Becomes an Obsesion Sofer, Rachel Devora 2008 S/O 09 18
We Remember the Holocaust Adler, David A. Holt 1989 M/J 90 14
We Remember with Reverence and Love: American Jews and the Myth of Silence After the Holocaust, 1945-1962 Diner, Hasia R. NYU Press 2009 N/D 09 21
We Shall Live: Yiddish Songs of the Holocaust (AUDIO) Zim, Paul American Society for Yad Vashem 1990 S/O 94 12
We Were Each Others Prisoners: An Oral History of World War II: American and German Prisoners of War Carlson, Lewis H. Basic Books 1997 S/O 97 6
We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement that Defied Adolf Hitler Freedman, Russell Clarion 2016 S/O 2016 35 Krasner, Barbara
Wealth in Biblical Times Zediker, Rose Ross Mason Crest 2010 S/O 09 14
Web of Life: Folklore and Midrash in Rabbinic Literature Hasan-Rokem, Galit, Stein, Batya Stanford University Press 2000 S/O 01 14
Wedding that Saved a Town, The Strom, Yale, Prosmitsky, Jenya Kar-Ben 2008 S/O 08 53
Weddings Mason, Paul Rites of Passage Series Heinemann Library 2004 S/O 04 53
Wednesday the Rabbi Got Wet Kemelman, Harry Morrow 1976 W76 17
Weekday Prayers: Essays / by the Rabbis & Professors of Yeshiva University, The Feldman, Daniel Z., Halpern, Stuart W. Maggid Books 2014 F/M 16 9 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Weekly Mitzva Tabory, Binyamin Maggid/Koren Publishers 2016 S/O 2016 18 Gordon, Ilka
Weight of the Sky, The Sandell, Lisa Ann Viking 2006 F/M 06 19
Weinberg and the Search for the Cause of Cancer Gaines, Ann, Witing, Jim Unlocking the Secrets of Science Mitchell Lane 2002 M/J 04 30-31
Welcome and ... Our Condolences (VIDEO) Prudovsky, Leon, Yacov-Mecklberg, Estee, Mecklberg, Haim Go2Films 2012 S/O13 50-51
Welcome Back, Madame Chamberlaine Wolner, Tzipie Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 11 Pinchuk, Chava
Welcome to Israel Schemenauer, Elma Welcome to the World Series The Child's World 2008 N/D 07 21-22
Welcome to the Club: The Art of Jewish Grandparenting Sonnheim, Moshe Devora 2004 F/M 05 24
Welcome to the Family! Opening Doors to the Jewish Experience Shenker, Louis Sussman White Cloud Press 2001 N/D 02 15-16
Welcome to the Seder: A Passover Haggadah for Everyone Olitzky, Kerry M. Behrman House 2018 M/J 2018 27 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Welcome to the World: A Jewish Babys Record Book Wolff, Glenn, ill. Women's League S/O 86 6
Welcome Tomorrow Reisman, Arnold F/M 83 3
Were All in the Same Boat Shapiro, Zachary, Davis, Jack E. G. P. Putnam's Sons 2009 M/J 09 9
Were Missing the Point: Whats Wrong with the Orthodox Jewish Community and How to Fix it Rothstein, Gidon Orthodox Union Press 2012 S/O12 46
Were Really Going Home Zakutinsky, Ruth, Richter, Sharon Aura Publishing 1979 Sp80 21
Were the Jews a Mediterranean Society?: Reciprocity and Solidarity in Ancient Judaism Schwartz, Seth Princeton University Press 2010 F/M 10 39
Were the Popes Against the Jews? Tracking hte Myths, Confronting the Ideologues Lawler, Justus George Eerdmans 2012 M/J13 28-29
Were We Our Brothers Keepres? The Public Response of American Jews to the Holocaust 1939-1944 Lookstein, Heskel Hartmore 1985 N/D 87 4
West Bank Story, The Halabi, Rafik S/O 82 7
West to Eden Goldreich, Gloria Macmillan 1987 F/M 88 41765
Western Wall and Other Jewish Holy Places, The Ross, Mandy Holy Places Series Raintree 2003 F/M 04 41-42
What a Life?: The Autobiography of Pesachke Burstein, Yiddish Matinee Idol Burstein, Pesach, Burstein, Lillian, Freidlin, Gershon Syracuse University Press 2003 S/O 03 18
What a Way to Start a New Year! A Rosh Hashanah Story Jules, Jacqueline, Stead, Judy Kar-Ben 2013 S/O13 12-13
What About Me? Evenhis, Gertie Nelson 1976 Sp77 31
What Am I? Passover Lewis, Anne Margaret, Ms, Tom My Look and See Holiday Book Albert Whitman 2012 M/J 12 17
What Can You Do with a Bagel Feder, Harriet K. San Val 1991 S/O 91 22
What Did Pinny Do? An Upsherin Story Sitter, Nechama, Leff, Tova Hachai 2013 N/D13 11
What Did the Biblical Writers Know, and When Did They Know It?: What Archaeology Can Tell Us about the Reality of Ancient Israel Dever, William G. Eerdmans 2001 F/M 02 20
What Did They Think of the Jews? Gould, Allan Aronson 1991 M/J 91 15
What Do I Say? Goldberg, Malky, Argoff, Patti Hachai 2005 F/M 06 11
What Do You Mean, You Cant Eat in My Home?: A Guide to How Newly Observant Jews and Their Less-Observant Relatives Can Still Get Along Jaffe, Azriela Schocken Books 2005 N/D 05 28
What Do You See on Chanukah? Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2007 F/M 08 18
What Do You See on Pesach Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2007 S/O 07 21
What Do You See on Shabbos? Goetz, Bracha What Do You See? Series Judaica Press 2009 F/M 10 41986
What Do You See? At School Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2012 FM13 4
What Does Judaism Say About …? Jacobs, Louis Quadrangle 1974 D 74 28
What Else Do I Say? Goldberg, Malky, Argoff, Patti Hachai 2007 S/O 07 24
What Happened to Heather Hopkowitz? Herman, Charlotte Dutton 1981 W82 15
What Happened to Heather Hopkowitz? Herman, Charlotte M/J 82 8
What Happens When I Die: Jewish Views on Life After Death Sonsino, Rifat, Syme, Daniel B. Aronson 1994 N/D 94 41923
What I Like About Passover Livney, Varda Simon & Schuster 2002 F/M 02 40
What is Talmud? The Art of Disagreement Dolgopolski, Sergey Fordham University Press 2009 S/O 10 30
What is the Purpose of Creation? A Jewish Anthology Alter, Michael J. Aronson 1991 S/O 91 17
What Judaism Says About Politics Sicker, Martin Aronson 1994 S/O 94 11
What Makes Me a Jew? Seidman, Lauren Jewish Lights Publishing 2007 M/J 07 17

Pages

CSV