Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

To submit a title for review please read the submission guidelines

Titlesort descending Author/Editor Series Publisher Year Issue P Review Author
Weekly Mitzva Tabory, Binyamin Maggid/Koren Publishers 2016 S/O 2016 18 Gordon, Ilka
Weight of the Sky, The Sandell, Lisa Ann Viking 2006 F/M 06 19
Weinberg and the Search for the Cause of Cancer Gaines, Ann, Witing, Jim Unlocking the Secrets of Science Mitchell Lane 2002 M/J 04 30-31
Welcome and ... Our Condolences (VIDEO) Prudovsky, Leon, Yacov-Mecklberg, Estee, Mecklberg, Haim Go2Films 2012 S/O13 50-51
Welcome Back, Madame Chamberlaine Wolner, Tzipie Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 11 Pinchuk, Chava
Welcome to Israel Schemenauer, Elma Welcome to the World Series The Child's World 2008 N/D 07 21-22
Welcome to the Club: The Art of Jewish Grandparenting Sonnheim, Moshe Devora 2004 F/M 05 24
Welcome to the Family! Opening Doors to the Jewish Experience Shenker, Louis Sussman White Cloud Press 2001 N/D 02 15-16
Welcome to the Seder: A Passover Haggadah for Everyone Olitzky, Kerry M. Behrman House 2018 M/J 2018 27 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Welcome to the World: A Jewish Babys Record Book Wolff, Glenn, ill. Women's League S/O 86 6
Welcome Tomorrow Reisman, Arnold F/M 83 3
Were All in the Same Boat Shapiro, Zachary, Davis, Jack E. G. P. Putnam's Sons 2009 M/J 09 9
Were Missing the Point: Whats Wrong with the Orthodox Jewish Community and How to Fix it Rothstein, Gidon Orthodox Union Press 2012 S/O12 46
Were Really Going Home Zakutinsky, Ruth, Richter, Sharon Aura Publishing 1979 Sp80 21
Were the Jews a Mediterranean Society?: Reciprocity and Solidarity in Ancient Judaism Schwartz, Seth Princeton University Press 2010 F/M 10 39
Were the Popes Against the Jews? Tracking hte Myths, Confronting the Ideologues Lawler, Justus George Eerdmans 2012 M/J13 28-29
Were We Our Brothers Keepres? The Public Response of American Jews to the Holocaust 1939-1944 Lookstein, Heskel Hartmore 1985 N/D 87 4
West Bank Story, The Halabi, Rafik S/O 82 7
West to Eden Goldreich, Gloria Macmillan 1987 F/M 88 41765
Western Wall and Other Jewish Holy Places, The Ross, Mandy Holy Places Series Raintree 2003 F/M 04 41-42
What a Life?: The Autobiography of Pesachke Burstein, Yiddish Matinee Idol Burstein, Pesach, Burstein, Lillian, Freidlin, Gershon Syracuse University Press 2003 S/O 03 18
What a Way to Start a New Year! A Rosh Hashanah Story Jules, Jacqueline, Stead, Judy Kar-Ben 2013 S/O13 12-13
What About Me? Evenhis, Gertie Nelson 1976 Sp77 31
What Am I? Passover Lewis, Anne Margaret, Ms, Tom My Look and See Holiday Book Albert Whitman 2012 M/J 12 17
What Can You Do with a Bagel Feder, Harriet K. San Val 1991 S/O 91 22
What Did Pinny Do? An Upsherin Story Sitter, Nechama, Leff, Tova Hachai 2013 N/D13 11
What Did the Biblical Writers Know, and When Did They Know It?: What Archaeology Can Tell Us about the Reality of Ancient Israel Dever, William G. Eerdmans 2001 F/M 02 20
What Did They Think of the Jews? Gould, Allan Aronson 1991 M/J 91 15
What Do I Say? Goldberg, Malky, Argoff, Patti Hachai 2005 F/M 06 11
What Do You Mean, You Cant Eat in My Home?: A Guide to How Newly Observant Jews and Their Less-Observant Relatives Can Still Get Along Jaffe, Azriela Schocken Books 2005 N/D 05 28
What Do You See on Chanukah? Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2007 F/M 08 18
What Do You See on Pesach Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2007 S/O 07 21
What Do You See on Shabbos? Goetz, Bracha What Do You See? Series Judaica Press 2009 F/M 10 41986
What Do You See? At School Goetz, Bracha Judaica Press 2012 FM13 4
What Does Judaism Say About …? Jacobs, Louis Quadrangle 1974 D 74 28
What Else Do I Say? Goldberg, Malky, Argoff, Patti Hachai 2007 S/O 07 24
What Happened to Heather Hopkowitz? Herman, Charlotte Dutton 1981 W82 15
What Happened to Heather Hopkowitz? Herman, Charlotte M/J 82 8
What Happens When I Die: Jewish Views on Life After Death Sonsino, Rifat, Syme, Daniel B. Aronson 1994 N/D 94 41923
What I Like About Passover Livney, Varda Simon & Schuster 2002 F/M 02 40
What is Talmud? The Art of Disagreement Dolgopolski, Sergey Fordham University Press 2009 S/O 10 30
What is the Purpose of Creation? A Jewish Anthology Alter, Michael J. Aronson 1991 S/O 91 17
What Judaism Says About Politics Sicker, Martin Aronson 1994 S/O 94 11
What Makes Me a Jew? Seidman, Lauren Jewish Lights Publishing 2007 M/J 07 17
What Queen Esther Knew: Business Strategies from a Biblical Sage Glaser, Connie, Smalley, Barbara Rodale 2003 S/O 03 19
What the Night Sings Stamper, Vesper Knopf Books for Young Readers 2018 M/J 2018 17 Silver, Linda R.
What the Rabbis Said: The Public Discourse of Nineteenth-Century American Rabbis Cohen, Naomi W. NYU Press 2008 F/M 09 8
What We Did for Love: Resistance, Heartbreak, Betrayal Farrant, Natasha Enslow S/O14 41 Dublin, Anne
What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank: Stories Englander, Nathan Alfred A. Knopf 2012 S/O12 54
What World is Left Polak, Monique Orca 2008 F/M 09 43
What You Will See Inside a Synagogue Hoffman, Lawrence A., Wolfson, Ron, Aron, Bill Skylight Paths 2004 F/M 05 34
What Zessie Saw on Delancey Street Rael, Elsa Okon, Priceman, Marjorie Simon & Schuster 1996 F/M 97 14
What's a Grandparent? Trigere, Jane, Vincent, Lu Schoen Books 2018 N/D 2019 19-20 Levitan, Rebecca
What's Beyond the Bible Text: Thought Provoking Comments on the Bible that Stimulate and Stretch the Imagination Wagner, Stanley M. and Israel Drazin Mekor Press 2013 S/O14 25 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
What? Again Those Jews! Lantner, Henry L. Gefen 1997 M/J 97 18
Whatever Is Contained Must Be Released: My Jewish Orthodox Girlhood, My Life as a Feminist Artist Aylon, Helene The Rueben/Rifkin Jewish Women Writers Series The Feminist Press at the City University of New York 2012 M/J13 17
Whats in the Bible?: A Concise Look at the 39 Books of the Hebrew Bible Freudmann, Lillian C. Aronson 1996 N/D 96 5
Whats So Bad About Guilt?: Learning to Live With It Since We Cant Live Without It Wechsler, Harlan J. Simon & Schuster 1990 N/D 90 11
When a Grandparent Dies: A Kids Own Remembering Workbook for Dealing with Shiva and Beyond Liss-Levinson, Nechama Jewish Lights Publishing 1995 N/D 95 15
When a Jew Dies: The Ethnography of a Bereaved Son Heilman, Samuel C. University of California Press 2001 N/D 01 7
When Deborah Met Jael: Lesbian Biblical Hermeneutics Guest, Deryn SCM Press 2005 F/M 06 33
When God Judged and Men Died Sherman, Arnold Bantam 1973 Ap 74 26
When Grandpa Came to Stay Caseley, Judith Greenwillow Books 1986 S/O 86 10
When I Daven Zoldan, Yael, Allen, Shira Feldheim 2012 N/D12 7
When I First Held You: A Lullaby from Israel Snir, Eleyor, Shubow, Mary Jane Kar-Ben 2009 N/D 09 16-17
When I Left My Village Schur, Maxine Rose, Pinkney, Brian Dial 1996 M/J 97 13
When I Lived in Modern Times Grant, Linda Dutton 2000 S/O 01 23-24
When I Was a Soldier Zenatti, Valerie Bloomsbury 2005 S/O 05 20
When It Comes to Living: Selected Stories Vendorf, Zalman Fithian Press 2004 M/J 05 31
When It Was Our War: A Soldiers Wife on the Home Front Suberman, Stella Algonquin Books 2003 S/O 03 27
When Its Purim Zolkower, Edie Stoltz, Bjornson, Barb Kar-Ben 2009 F/M 09 51
When It’s Over Ridley, Barbara She Writes Press 2017 M/J 2018 39 Wallerstein, Jane
When Jackie and Hank Met Fishman, Cathy Goldberg, Elliot, Mark Marshall Cavendish 2012 M/J 12 13
When Jessie Came Across the Sea Hest, Amy, Lynch, P. J. Cnadlewick Press 1997 F/M 98 15
When Joseph Met Molly: A Reader on Yiddish Film Paskin, Sylvia Five Leaves Publications 1999 S/O 99 13
When Kafka Says We: Uncommon Communities in German-Jewihs Literature Liska, Vivian Indiana University Press 2009 S/O 10 35
When Light Pierced the Darkness: Christian Rescue of Jews in Nazi-Occupied Poland Tec, Nechama Oxford University Press 1986 N/D 86 5
When Living Hurts Gordon, Sol UAHC 1985 F/M 86 6
When Memory Comes Friedlander, Saul Ma 80 6
When Memory Comes: A Film about Saul Friedländer Diamand, Jack Icarus Films 2012 N/D 2015 45 Pinchuck, Chava
When Memory Speaks: The Holocaust in Art Toll, Nelly Praeger 1998 S/O 98 29
When Mindy Saved Hanukkah Kimmel, Eric A., McClintock, Barbara Scholastic 1998 F/M 99 18
When Mourning Comes: A Book of Comfort for the Grieving Silverman, William B., Cinammon, Kenneth M. Aronson 1990 F/M 90 17
When My Mother No Longer Knew My Name: A Sons "Course" in "Rational" Caregiving Goldstein, Stephen L. Grid Press 2012 M/J13 24
When People Die Bernstein, Joanne E. Dutton 1977 W77 31
When Pirates Came to Brooklyn Shalant, Phyllis Dutton 2002 N/D 03 27
When Pirates Came to Brooklyn Shalant, Phyllis Dutton 2002 S/O 03 53
When Scotland Was Jewish: DNA Evidence, Archaeology, Analysis of Migrations, and Public and Family Records Show Twelfth Century Semitic Roots Hirschman, Elizabeth Caldwell, Yates, Donald N. McFarland 2007 M/J 08 35
When Silence Speaks Erickson, Victoria Fortress Press 1993 M/J 94 8
When Solomon Was King MacGill-Callahan, Sheila, Johnson, Stephen T. Dial 1995 F/M 96 17
When the Beginning Began Lester, Julius, Lisker, Emily Harcourt 1999 S/O 99 17
When the Birds Stopped Singing: Life in Ramallah Under Siege Shehadeh, Raja Steerforth 2003 N/D 03 18
When the Chickens Went on Strike Silverman, Erica, Trueman, Matthew Dutton 2003 S/O 03 49
When the Chickens Went on Strike: A Rosh Hashanah Tale Silverman, Erica, Trueman, Matthew Dutton 2003 N/D 03 30
When the Grey Beetles Took Over Baghdad Yahia, Mona Braziler 2007 N/D 07 27
When the Hurricane Came Liss-Levinson, Nechama CreateSpace 2012 N/D12 4
When the Soldiers Were Gone Propp, Vera W. Putnam 1999 F/M 00 11
When the Soldiers Were Gone Propp, Vera W. Putnam 1999 F/M 99 20
When the War is Over Attema, Martha Orca 2003 M/J 03 28-29
When the World Was Quiet Nutkis, Phyllis, Argoff, Patti Hachai 2004 M/J 04 29

Pages

CSV