Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

Title Author/Editor Series Publisher Yearsort ascending Issue P Review Author
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story Newman, Leslea, Bates, Amy June Abrams Books for Young Readers 2019 M/J 2019 2-3 Bloomfield, Kathy
Creation Colors Koffsky, Ann D. Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 3 Malen, Michal Hoschander
Mitzvah Pizza Scheerger, Sarah Lynn, Melmon, Deborah Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 16 Tilman, Ellen
Understand Judaism Blohm, Craig E. Understanding World Religions Reference Point Press 2019 M/J 2019 17 Bloomfield, Kathy
Saving Hanno: The Story of a Refugee Dog Halahmy, Miriam Holiday House 2019 M/J 2019 12-13 Krasner, Barbara
The Cat Who Lived With Anne Frank Miller, David Lee, Rubin, Steven Jay, Baddeley, Elizabeth Philomel Books 2019 M/J 2019 13 Glasser, Rachel
Aly Raisman: Athlete and Activist Leigh, Anna Lerner 2019 M/J 2019 4-5 McMahon, Martha
Hand in Hand Rosenbaum, Andria Warmflash, Shleifer, Maya Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 14 Krasner, Barbara
Anne Frank: Get to Know the Girls Beyond Her Diary Radomski, Kassandra Capstone 2019 M/J 2019 5 Issac, Fred
White Rose Wilson, Kip Versify/ Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2019 M/J 2019 14 Krasner, Barbara
Shimri's Big Idea: A Story of Ancient Jerusalem Weber, Elka, Bousidan, Inbal Gigi [nid:52277], illustrator Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 15 Pinchuck, Chava
Passover Haggadah Graphic Novel Gorfinkel, Jordan B., Erez, Zadok Koren Publishers 2019 M/J 2019 2 Pinchuk, Chava
Simchat Torah is Coming! Newman, Tracy, Garofoli, Viviana Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 6-7 McMahon, Martha
Scarlett and Sam Search for the Shamir Kimmel, Eric A., Stevanovic, Ivica Scarlett and Same Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 13 Tilman, Ellen
Divrei Mishkan T’filah: Delving into the Siddur Sarason, Richard S. Central Conference of American Rabbis 2018 M/J 2018 28 Smailes, Suzanne
Genealogy and the Librarian: Perspectives on Research, Instruction, Outreach, and Management Smallwood, Carol, Gubnitskaia, Vera McFarland 2018 N/D 2018 33 Dwoskin, Beth
I Go to Sleep Benenfeld, Rikki Hachai 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levine, Joyce
Prodigal children in the house of G-d Taub, Yermiyahu Ahron austin macauley Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 38 Seigel, Amanda
Noah's Art Animal ABCs Scudamore, Angelika Zonderkidz 2018 M/J 2019 7 Kamin, Rachel
Gal Gadot: Soldier, Model, Wonder Woman. Sherman, Jill Gateway Biographies Lerner 2018 M/J 2018 9 Dublin, Anne
Am I My Body's Keeper? Torah, Science, Diet and Fitness- for Life. Kaufman, Michael Urim 2018 N/D 2018 29 Quinn, Arthur G.
Ben and the Bishop Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
I Have Lost My Way Forman, Gayle Viking Books for Young Readers 2018 M/J 2019 11 Gershowitz, Elissa
The Italian Executioners: the Genocide of the Jews of Italy Sullam, Simon Levis, trans. Smyth, Oona, Patane, Claudia Princeton University Pres 2018 N/D 2018 33 Simon, Rachel
We Can Find A Way: A Hachnosas Orchim Inclusion Story Rosenfeld, Dina H., Wummer, Amy Hachai Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levitan, Rebecca
The World Needs Beautiful Things Berkowitz, Leah Rachel, Fabbri, Daniele Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 6-7 Cole, Ellen
Two by Two Stauffer, Lisa Lowe, Scudamore, Angelika Zonderkidz 2018 M/J 2019 7 Tilman, Ellen
Israel Persano, Thomas Countries we come from Bearport 2018 M/J 2018 18 Rapp, Andrea
Me and My Dog and the Homework Mystery Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Me and my dog Menucha Classroom Solutions 2018 M/J 2018 9 Pinchuck, Chava
A Matter of Geography: A New Perspective on Medieval Hebrew Poetry Kfir, Uriah Etudes sur le Judaisme Medieval, 74 Brill 2018 N/D 2018 29 David B. Levy
Passport Control Green, Gila S & H Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 11-12 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Hebrew Fascism in Palestine, 1922-1942 Tamir, Dan Palgrave Macmillan 2018 N/D 2018 33-34 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Where's the Potty on this Ark? Olizky, Kerry, Tompkins, Abigail Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2019 3-4 Tilman, Ellen
Avi for President Koffsky, Ann D. Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 7 Dublin, Anne
Queen Esther: A Bible Story Retold Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Gau Family Studio Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
The Spy with the Red Balloon Locke, Katherine Albert Whitman 2018 M/J 2019 12 Bloomfield, Kathy
Chief Rabbi Nathan Marcus Adler: The Forgotten Founder. Taylor, Derek Vallentine Mitchell 2018 N/D 2018 34 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Anne Frank Baron, Clementine, Wennagal, Bruno, Nolan, Catherine Roaring Brook Press 2018 M/J 2019 4 Silverman, Lisa
Bronislaw Huberman Aronson, Peter Double M Books 2018 N/D 2018 7 Barbara Krasner
A Pizza Contest for Jelly Eli Z. Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 8 Bloomfield, Kathy
Bubbe’s Got the Beat Press, Judy, Hall, Mary Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 19 Tilman, Ellen
The Rabbinic Conversion of Judaism: the Unique Perspective of the Bavli on Conversion and the Construction of Jewish Identity. Lavee, Moshe Brill 2018 M/J 2018 26 Scheide, Daniel
The Crate: A Story of War, a Murder, and Justice Levison, Deborah Vadas Wildblue Press 2018 N/D 2018 30 Silverburg, Sanford R.
Rokitno Square Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
Blacklisted: Hollywood, the Cold War, and the First Amendment Brimner, Larry Dane Calkins Creek 2018 M/J 2019 17 Quay, Alex
Thought and the Perception of Evil: Aristotle, Plato, the Hebrew Bible, and the Babylonian Talmud Trachtenberg, Eliezer A. Geffen 2018 N/D 2018 34-35 Randall C. Belinfante [nid:51578] and Anne-Marie Belinfante
Albert Einstein Crete, Patricia, Wennagal, Bruno, Nolan, Catherine Roaring Brook Press 2018 M/J 2019 4 Silverman, Lisa
An Unlikely Ballerina Goddu, Krystyna Poray, Cosei Kawa Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 7-8 Dublin, Anne
Teacher Troubles for Jelly Eli Z. Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 8 Bloomfield, Kathy
Jewish Aramaic Poetry from Late Antiquity: Translations and Commentaries Lieber, Laura Suzanne Brill 2018 N/D 2018 30 Levy, David B
The Sinking of the Patricia Liberman, Judith Weinshall Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 11 Silver, Linda R.
Social Skills Around the Clock Schonfeld, Rifka, Judowitz, Yoel Feldheim 2018 M/J 2019 17-18 Citrin, Rena
(((Semitism))): Being Jewish in the Age of Trump Weisman, Jonathan St. Martin's Press 2018 N/D 2018 35 Lieberman, Eli
Yanky's Amazing Discovery Bauman, Reuven Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 8 Citrin, Rena
The Visit to Latrun Liberman, Judith Weinshall Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 11 Silver, Linda
Let's Meet a Hatzalah Member Unger, Nissi, Rosner, Hersh Our Community Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 18 Levine, Joyce
Picture Girl Brill, Marlene Targ Golden Alley Press 2018 M/J 2019 9 Malen, Michal Hoschander
Family with Two Front Doors, The Ciddor, Anna Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
From Krakow to Berkeley: Coming Out of Hiding. An Immigrant's Search for Identity and Belonging Rabkin, Anna Valentine Mitchell 2018 N/D 2018 31 Bibel, Barbara M.
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment Patterson, James, Grabenstein, Chris, Johnson, Bev Jimmy Patterson Books 2018 N/D 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
First Generation: 36 Trailblazing Immigrants and Refugees Who Make America Great Wallace, Sandra Neil, Wallace, Rich, Nowicka, Agata Little Brown and Company 2018 M/J 2019 5-6 Quay, Alex
Kids Speak 10 Walder, Chaim, Benedict, Devorah Kids Speak Feldheim 2018 M/J 2019 18 Glasser, Rachel
A Fist Around the Heart Chisvin, Heather Second Story Press 2018 N/D 2018 36 Lieberman, Eli
All About Anne Metsellar, Menno, Scarry, Harry Second Story Press 2018 N/D 2018 8-9 Flax, Shoshana
12 Before 13 Greenwald, Lisa Katherine Tagen Books- HarperCollins 2018 M/J 2019 9 Flax, Shoshana
Welcome to the Seder: A Passover Haggadah for Everyone Olitzky, Kerry M. Behrman House 2018 M/J 2018 27 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Jewish Libya: Memory & Identity in Text & Image Roumani, Jacques, Meghnagi, David, Roumani, Judith Syracuse University Press 2018 N/D 2018 31
All Three Stooges Perl, Erica Random House 2018 N/D 2018 12 Colodny, Debbie
Gila Makes Aliyah Blacher, Ariel Augenbraun, Koppel, Shana Menorah Books 2018 M/J 2019 14-15 Pinchuck, Chava
Hats of Faith Cohan, Medeia, Walsh, Sarah Chronicle Books 2018 M/J 2019 6 Tilman, Ellen
What the Night Sings Stamper, Vesper Knopf Books for Young Readers 2018 M/J 2018 17 Silver, Linda R.
The Four Corners of the World, Stories Nadelson, Scott Engine Books 2018 N/D 2018 36 Freiband, Susan
Equality Lost:Essays in Torah Commentary, Halacha, and Jewish Thought Henkin, Yehuda Second Issue Urim Publications 2018 N/D 2018 28 Levy, David B
The Story of Rebbetzin Henny Machlis: Her Amazing Home and Family Zakon, Rabbi Nachman, Zakon, Miriam Artscroll/Mesorah 2018 N/D 2018 9 Pinchuk, Chava
A Promise Stitched in Time Kosinski, Colleen Rowan Schiffer Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 10 Dublin, Anne
Three Founders of Israel Schreiber, Mordecai Amazon 2018 N/D 2018 32 Isaac, Fred
Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation Folman, Ari, Polonsky, David [nid:52283], illustrator Pantheon Books 2018 M/J 2019 1 Levitan, Rebecca
I Look Up to... Ruth Bader Ginsberg Membrino, Anna, Burke, Fatti Random House 2018 M/J 2019 6 Colodny, Debbie
Mapping the Bones Yolen, Jane Philomel Books 2018 M/J 2018 17 Silver, Linda R.
I, Sarah Steinway Carter, Mary E. Tovah Miriam 2018 M/J 2018 35 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Memento Park Sarvas, Mark Farar, Straus & Giroux 2018 N/D 2018 38 Weisman, Yaffa
Walter’s Welcome: The Intimate Story of a German-Jewish Family Flight from the Nazis to Peru Echenberg, Eva Neisser, Rasminsky, Judy Sklar Skyhorse Publishing 2018 M/J 2018 23 Share, Ellen
Wine, Whisky & Halacha Kallus, HaRav Shraga, Rabbi Abraham Chaim Slansky Second Edition Orot Chaim 2018 N/D 2018 28 Chava,Pinchuck
A Cage Without Bars Dublin, Anne PBK 2018 N/D 2018 9-10 Levine, Joyce
Bold as a Leopard ( The Chronicles of Meir ben Yaakov) Walfish, Miriam Judaica Press 2018 M/J 2019 10 Levine, Joyce
Penina Pinkowitz and the Summer Situation Horowitz, Shayna R. Menucha Publishers 2018 M/J 2018 12 Pinchuck, Chava
Hearts and Minds: Israel and the Battle for Public Opinion Shai, Nachman SUNY Press 2018 N/D 2018 32 Isaac, Fred
I Want a Friend! Stories for Learning Essential Social Skills Benedict, Devorah Feldheim 2018 M/J 2019 15 Glasser, Rachel
The Astronaut's Son: A Novel Seigel, Tom Woodhall Press 2018 N/D 2018 38 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Spy Who Played Baseball, The Jones, Carrie Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 8 Tilman, Ellen
Hasidic Art and the Kabbalah Goldman-Ida, Batsheva (Brill’s Series in Jewish Studies, Volume 59 Brill 2018 M/J 2018 23 Levy, David B
Scholarly Man of Faith: Studies in the Thought and Writings of Rabbi Josephy B. Soloveitchik Kanarfogel, Ephraim, Schwartz, Dov Ktav 2018 N/D 2018 28-29 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Yael and the Party of the Year Lane, Tamsin Simon & Schuster 2018 N/D 2018 10 Quay, Alex
Welcome Back, Madame Chamberlaine Wolner, Tzipie Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 11 Pinchuk, Chava
Wailing Wall Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2017 M/J 2018 18 Eskin, Marcie
Inspired by a True Story: Isaac Karmon, Robert Pleasure Boat Studio 2017 M/J 2018 36 Bibel, Barbara M.
Light that Unites Us, The Goldscheider, Aaron Oxford University Press 2017 M/J 2018 25 Freiband, Susan
Miriam’s Secret Waldman, Debby Orca 2017 M/J 2018 13 Dublin, Anne
Educational Oases in the Desert: the Alliance Israélite Universelle’s Girls’ Schools in Ottoman Iraq, 1895-1915 Sciarcon, Jonathan SUNY Press 2017 M/J 2018 30 Simon, Rachel
Strangers in Budapest Keener, Jessica Algonquin Books 2017 M/J 2018 36 Gremillion, Yossi

Pages

CSV