Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

Title Author/Editor Series Publisher Yearsort ascending Issue P Review Author
Mapping the Bones Yolen, Jane Philomel Books 2018 M/J 2018 17 Silver, Linda R.
All About Anne Metsellar, Menno, Scarry, Harry Second Story Press 2018 N/D 2018 8-9 Flax, Shoshana
Me and My Dog and the Homework Mystery Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Me and my dog Menucha Classroom Solutions 2018 M/J 2018 9 Pinchuck, Chava
The Italian Executioners: the Genocide of the Jews of Italy Sullam, Simon Levis, trans. Smyth, Oona, Patane, Claudia Princeton University Pres 2018 N/D 2018 33 Simon, Rachel
Queen Esther: A Bible Story Retold Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Gau Family Studio Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
Scholarly Man of Faith: Studies in the Thought and Writings of Rabbi Josephy B. Soloveitchik Kanarfogel, Ephraim, Schwartz, Dov Ktav 2018 N/D 2018 28-29 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Prodigal children in the house of G-d Taub, Yermiyahu Ahron austin macauley Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 38 Seigel, Amanda
From Krakow to Berkeley: Coming Out of Hiding. An Immigrant's Search for Identity and Belonging Rabkin, Anna Valentine Mitchell 2018 N/D 2018 31 Bibel, Barbara M.
All About Anne Metsellar, Menno, Scarry, Harry Second Story Press 2018 N/D 2018 8-9 Flax, Shoshana
Me and My Dog and the Homework Mystery Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Me and my dog Menucha Classroom Solutions 2018 M/J 2018 9 Pinchuck, Chava
Hebrew Fascism in Palestine, 1922-1942 Tamir, Dan Palgrave Macmillan 2018 N/D 2018 33-34 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Rokitno Square Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
Am I My Body's Keeper? Torah, Science, Diet and Fitness- for Life. Kaufman, Michael Urim 2018 N/D 2018 29 Quinn, Arthur G.
The World Needs Beautiful Things Berkowitz, Leah Rachel, Fabbri, Daniele Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 6-7 Cole, Ellen
Jewish Libya: Memory & Identity in Text & Image Roumani, Jacques, Meghnagi, David, Roumani, Judith Syracuse University Press 2018 N/D 2018 31
The Story of Rebbetzin Henny Machlis: Her Amazing Home and Family Zakon, Rabbi Nachman, Zakon, Miriam Artscroll/Mesorah 2018 N/D 2018 9 Pinchuk, Chava
Chief Rabbi Nathan Marcus Adler: The Forgotten Founder. Taylor, Derek Vallentine Mitchell 2018 N/D 2018 34 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Rokitno Square Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
A Matter of Geography: A New Perspective on Medieval Hebrew Poetry Kfir, Uriah Etudes sur le Judaisme Medieval, 74 Brill 2018 N/D 2018 29 David B. Levy
The World Needs Beautiful Things Berkowitz, Leah Rachel, Fabbri, Daniele Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 6-7 Cole, Ellen
Jewish Libya: Memory & Identity in Text & Image Roumani, Jacques, Meghnagi, David, Roumani, Judith Syracuse University Press 2018 N/D 2018 31
The Story of Rebbetzin Henny Machlis: Her Amazing Home and Family Zakon, Rabbi Nachman, Zakon, Miriam Artscroll/Mesorah 2018 N/D 2018 9 Pinchuk, Chava
The Sinking of the Patricia Liberman, Judith Weinshall Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 11 Silver, Linda R.
Family with Two Front Doors, The Ciddor, Anna Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
Walter’s Welcome: The Intimate Story of a German-Jewish Family Flight from the Nazis to Peru Echenberg, Eva Neisser, Rasminsky, Judy Sklar Skyhorse Publishing 2018 M/J 2018 23 Share, Ellen
Thought and the Perception of Evil: Aristotle, Plato, the Hebrew Bible, and the Babylonian Talmud Trachtenberg, Eliezer A. Geffen 2018 N/D 2018 34-35 Randall C. Belinfante [nid:51578] and Anne-Marie Belinfante
Welcome to the Seder: A Passover Haggadah for Everyone Olitzky, Kerry M. Behrman House 2018 M/J 2018 27 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Israel Persano, Thomas Countries we come from Bearport 2018 M/J 2018 18 Rapp, Andrea
Jewish Libya: Memory & Identity in Text & Image Roumani, Jacques, Meghnagi, David, Roumani, Judith Syracuse University Press 2018 N/D 2018 31
A Cage Without Bars Dublin, Anne PBK 2018 N/D 2018 9-10 Levine, Joyce
The Visit to Latrun Liberman, Judith Weinshall Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 11 Silver, Linda
Walter’s Welcome: The Intimate Story of a German-Jewish Family Flight from the Nazis to Peru Echenberg, Eva Neisser, Rasminsky, Judy Sklar Skyhorse Publishing 2018 M/J 2018 23 Share, Ellen
(((Semitism))): Being Jewish in the Age of Trump Weisman, Jonathan St. Martin's Press 2018 N/D 2018 35 Lieberman, Eli
Three Founders of Israel Schreiber, Mordecai Amazon 2018 N/D 2018 32 Isaac, Fred
Yael and the Party of the Year Lane, Tamsin Simon & Schuster 2018 N/D 2018 10 Quay, Alex
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment Patterson, James, Grabenstein, Chris, Johnson, Bev Jimmy Patterson Books 2018 N/D 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
Hasidic Art and the Kabbalah Goldman-Ida, Batsheva (Brill’s Series in Jewish Studies, Volume 59 Brill 2018 M/J 2018 23 Levy, David B
Bronislaw Huberman Aronson, Peter Double M Books 2018 N/D 2018 7 Barbara Krasner
Bubbe’s Got the Beat Press, Judy, Hall, Mary Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 19 Tilman, Ellen
Hearts and Minds: Israel and the Battle for Public Opinion Shai, Nachman SUNY Press 2018 N/D 2018 32 Isaac, Fred
Ben and the Bishop Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment Patterson, James, Grabenstein, Chris, Johnson, Bev Jimmy Patterson Books 2018 N/D 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
Penina Pinkowitz and the Summer Situation Horowitz, Shayna R. Menucha Publishers 2018 M/J 2018 12 Pinchuck, Chava
Divrei Mishkan T’filah: Delving into the Siddur Sarason, Richard S. Central Conference of American Rabbis 2018 M/J 2018 28 Smailes, Suzanne
An Unlikely Ballerina Goddu, Krystyna Poray, Cosei Kawa Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 7-8 Dublin, Anne
Bubbe’s Got the Beat Press, Judy, Hall, Mary Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 19 Tilman, Ellen
Genealogy and the Librarian: Perspectives on Research, Instruction, Outreach, and Management Smallwood, Carol, Gubnitskaia, Vera McFarland 2018 N/D 2018 33 Dwoskin, Beth
Ben and the Bishop Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
A Fist Around the Heart Chisvin, Heather Second Story Press 2018 N/D 2018 36 Lieberman, Eli
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment Patterson, James, Grabenstein, Chris, Johnson, Bev Jimmy Patterson Books 2018 N/D 2018 11 Dublin, Anne
Scarlett and Sam Search for the Shamir Kimmel, Eric A., Stevanovic, Ivica Scarlett and Same Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 13 Tilman, Ellen
Equality Lost:Essays in Torah Commentary, Halacha, and Jewish Thought Henkin, Yehuda Second Issue Urim Publications 2018 N/D 2018 28 Levy, David B
The Crate: A Story of War, a Murder, and Justice Levison, Deborah Vadas Wildblue Press 2018 N/D 2018 30 Silverburg, Sanford R.
An Unlikely Ballerina Goddu, Krystyna Poray, Cosei Kawa Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 7-8 Dublin, Anne
I, Sarah Steinway Carter, Mary E. Tovah Miriam 2018 M/J 2018 35 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Genealogy and the Librarian: Perspectives on Research, Instruction, Outreach, and Management Smallwood, Carol, Gubnitskaia, Vera McFarland 2018 N/D 2018 33 Dwoskin, Beth
The Four Corners of the World, Stories Nadelson, Scott Engine Books 2018 N/D 2018 36 Freiband, Susan
All Three Stooges Perl, Erica Random House 2018 N/D 2018 12 Colodny, Debbie
Scarlett and Sam Search for the Shamir Kimmel, Eric A., Stevanovic, Ivica Scarlett and Same Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 13 Tilman, Ellen
Wine, Whisky & Halacha Kallus, HaRav Shraga, Rabbi Abraham Chaim Slansky Second Edition Orot Chaim 2018 N/D 2018 28 Chava,Pinchuck
Jewish Aramaic Poetry from Late Antiquity: Translations and Commentaries Lieber, Laura Suzanne Brill 2018 N/D 2018 30 Levy, David B
Spy Who Played Baseball, The Jones, Carrie Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 8 Tilman, Ellen
The Italian Executioners: the Genocide of the Jews of Italy Sullam, Simon Levis, trans. Smyth, Oona, Patane, Claudia Princeton University Pres 2018 N/D 2018 33 Simon, Rachel
Memento Park Sarvas, Mark Farar, Straus & Giroux 2018 N/D 2018 38 Weisman, Yaffa
The Rabbinic Conversion of Judaism: the Unique Perspective of the Bavli on Conversion and the Construction of Jewish Identity. Lavee, Moshe Brill 2018 M/J 2018 26 Scheide, Daniel
Wine, Whisky & Halacha Kallus, HaRav Shraga, Rabbi Abraham Chaim Slansky Second Edition Orot Chaim 2018 N/D 2018 28 Chava,Pinchuck
What the Night Sings Stamper, Vesper Knopf Books for Young Readers 2018 M/J 2018 17 Silver, Linda R.
Gal Gadot: Soldier, Model, Wonder Woman. Sherman, Jill Gateway Biographies Lerner 2018 M/J 2018 9 Dublin, Anne
The Italian Executioners: the Genocide of the Jews of Italy Sullam, Simon Levis, trans. Smyth, Oona, Patane, Claudia Princeton University Pres 2018 N/D 2018 33 Simon, Rachel
Queen Esther: A Bible Story Retold Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Gau Family Studio Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
Scholarly Man of Faith: Studies in the Thought and Writings of Rabbi Josephy B. Soloveitchik Kanarfogel, Ephraim, Schwartz, Dov Ktav 2018 N/D 2018 28-29 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
The Astronaut's Son: A Novel Seigel, Tom Woodhall Press 2018 N/D 2018 38 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Max Baer and Barney Ross: Jewish Heroes of Boxing Sussman, Jeffrey Rowman & Littlefield 2017 M/J 2018 32 Share, Ellen
Angels Always Come on Time Linder, Chaim, Linder, Mark Lulu 2017 N/D 2018 31 Isaac, Fred
Librarian of Auschwitz, The Iturbe, Antonio, Thwaites, Lilit Henry Holt 2017 M/J 2018 5 Gershowitz, Elissa
War I Finally Won, The Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker Penguin Random House 2017 M/J 2018 10 Colodny, Debbie
American Interests in the Holy Land Revealed in Early Photographs Ben-David, Lenny Urim Publications 2017 M/J 2018 21 Gordon, Ilka
Strangers in Budapest Keener, Jessica Algonquin Books 2017 M/J 2018 36 Gremillion, Yossi
Backfield Boys: A Football Mystery in Black and White Feinstein, John Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2017 M/J 2018 14 Malen, Michal Hoschander
Israel Klepeis, Alicia Z. Exploring World Cultures Cavendish Square 2017 M/J 2018 18 Rapp, Andrea
Jews, Gentiles, and Other Animals: The Talmud after the Humanities Wasserman, Mira University of Pennsylvania Press 2017 M/J 2018 32 Sukenic, Harvey
Librarian of Auschwitz, The Iturbe, Antonio, Thwaites, Lilit Henry Holt 2017 M/J 2018 5 Gershowitz, Elissa
Long Trail Home, The Burkhart, Kiersi, Keyser, Amber Quartz Creek Ranch Lerner 2017 M/J 2018 11 McMahon, Martha
. Inconsistency in the Torah: Ancient Literary Convention and the Limits of Source Criticism Berman, Joshua Oxford University Press 2017 M/J 2018 22 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Words for Blessing the World: Poems in Hebrew and English Levine, Herbert Jewish Poetry Project Ben Yehuda Press 2017 M/J 2018 36 Pinchuck, Chava
Children of Willesden Lane: A True Story of Hope and Survival During World War II Golabek, Mona , Cohen, Lee, Sher, Emil Young Readers Edition Little, Brown Books for Young People 2017 M/J 2018 15 Levitan, Rebecca
Origins of Midrash: From Teaching to Text, The Mandel, Paul D. Supplements to the Journal for the Study of Judaism, vol. 180 Leiden 2017 M/J 2018 26 Levy, David B
Wailing Wall Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2017 M/J 2018 18 Eskin, Marcie
Sparks from the fire : Shabbos Drashos Delivered at Keillas Aish Kodesh Weinberger, Moshe, Wolf, Binyomin Feldheim Publishers 2017 M/J 2018 32 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Ronit & Jamil Laskin, Pamela Katherine Tegin Books 2017 M/J 2018 5 Citrin, Rena
Bentzi and the Magic Potion Glick, Shifra Bentzi Feldheim 2017 M/J 2018 10 Colodny, Debbie
Long Trail Home, The Burkhart, Kiersi, Keyser, Amber Quartz Creek Ranch Lerner 2017 M/J 2018 11 McMahon, Martha
Beginnings of Ladino Literature: Moses Almosnino and his Readers Borovaya, Olga Indiana University Press 2017 M/J 2018 22 Belinfante, Randall C.
Tell Me How This Ends Well. Levinson, David Samuel Hogarth 2017 M/J 2018 37 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Children of Willesden Lane: A True Story of Hope and Survival During World War II Golabek, Mona , Cohen, Lee, Sher, Emil Young Readers Edition Little, Brown Books for Young People 2017 M/J 2018 15 Levitan, Rebecca
Reframing Politics in the Hebrew Bible: a New Introduction with Readings Morgenstern, Mira Hackett 2017 M/J 2018 27 Silverburg, Sanford R.
Wailing Wall Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2017 M/J 2018 18 Eskin, Marcie
Sparks from the fire : Shabbos Drashos Delivered at Keillas Aish Kodesh Weinberger, Moshe, Wolf, Binyomin Feldheim Publishers 2017 M/J 2018 32 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Girl with the Red Balloon, The Locke, Katherine Albert Whitman 2017 M/J 2018 6 Bloomfield, Kathy
Bentzi and the Magic Potion Bentzi Feldheim 2017 M/J 2018 10 Pinchuck, Chava

Pages

CSV