Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

To submit a title for review please read the submission guidelines

Author/Editor Titlesort descending Place of Publication Year Series ISBN Issue P Review Author Review format Review type
Durango, Julia, Pohrt, Tom Walls of Cartagena, The 2008 N/D 08 30
Lesberg, Sandy, Canetti, Nicolai Walls of Jerusalem, The 1976 W77 27
Echenberg, Eva Neisser, Rasminsky, Judy Sklar Walter’s Welcome: The Intimate Story of a German-Jewish Family Flight from the Nazis to Peru 2018 M/J 2018 23 Share, Ellen Book Adult
Herzberger, Magda Waltz of the Shadows, The S/O 84 7
Dicker, Herman Wanderers and Settlers in the Far East 1962 Ap 74 24
Namztlas, Judith Wanderers Reflections, A F/M 83 3
Dann, Jack Wandering Stars 1974 Ap 74 25
Blum, Howard Wanted!: The Search for Nazis in America 1976 Sp77 27
Halberstam, Michael Wanting of Levine, The 1978 W78 23
Klein, Leah War 1991 The B. Y. Times, no. 4 M/J 92 23
Burstein, Shmuel War Against God and his People: a Guide to the Holocaust for Young People, The 2000 F/M 02 36-37
Dawidowicz, Lucy S. War Against the Jews, The 1975 W75 27
War and Peace in the Jewish Tradition 2007 Orthodox Forum Series S/O 07 53-54
Rogan, Eugene L., Shlaim, Avi War for Palestine: Rewriting the History of 1948, The 2001 F/M 02 25
Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker War I Finally Won, The 2017 M/J 2018 10 Colodny, Debbie Book Juvenile
Hampton, Wilborn War in the Middle East: A Reporters Story Black September and the Yom Kippur War 2007 N/D 07 21
Krakowski, Shmuel War of the Doomed: Jewish Armed Resistance in Poland, 1942-1944, The 1984 F/M 85 6
Mattson, Phyllis Helene War Orphan in San Francisco: Letters Link a Family Scattered by World War II 2005 S/O 05 48
Edelman, Gwen War Story: A Novel 2001 F/M 03 21
Matas, Carol War Within, The: a Novel of the Civil War 2001 F/M 02 34
Farrar, David Warburgs, The: The Story of a Family 1975 W75 28
Olshan, Joseph Warmer Season, A 1987 F/M 88 6
Zissman, Harold Warriors, The: My Life as a Jewish Soviet Partisan 2005 M/J 06 31-32
Rosenthal, Monroe, Mozeson, Isaac Wars of the Jews 1990 M/J 90 41986
Czerniakow, Adam Warsaw Diary of Adam Czerniakow, The Ma 80 5
Katsh, Abraham I. Warsaw Diary of Chaim A. Kaplan, The, 2nd ed. 1974 D 74 29
Zelnert, Karen Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, The 1993 M/J 94 41986
Engelking, Barbara, Leociak, Jacek Warsaw Ghetto: A Guide to the Perished City, The 2009 S/O 10 31
Warsaw Ghetto: the 45th Anniversary of the Uprising, The 1990 M/J 90 13
Holmgren, Beth Warsaw is My Country: The Story of Krstyna Bierzynska 2018 M/J 2019 30 Silverburg, Sanford R. Book
Dynner, Glenn, Guesnet, Francois Warsaw. The Jewish Metropolis: Essays in Honor of the 75th Birthday of Professor Antony Polonsky. 2015 F/M 16 6 Levy, David B
Litewka, Albert Warsaw: A Novel of Resistance 1989 F/M 90 18
Ascher, Abraham Was Hitler a Riddle? Western Democracies and National Socialism 2012 M/J13 16
Kochmanski, Bronislaw, Rosen, Sara, Weingarten, Bernice Was I a Spy? 2002 M/J 03 18
Rounds, Glen Washday on Noahs Ark 1985 S/O 85 6
Fruchter, Yaffa Waste Not, Want Not: Kosher Cookbook 2019 N/D 2019 23-24 Gordon, Ilka Book Adult
Levinson, Cynthia Watch Out for Flying Kids! How Two Circuses, Two Countries, and Nine Kids Confront Conflict and Build Community 2015 S/O 2015 37 Rapp, Andrea
Levinson, Riki Watch the Stars Come Out M/J 86 5
Levinson, Riki, Goode, Diane Watch the Stars Come Out 1985 A/M 86 5
Moriarty, Chris, Edward Geyer, Mark Watcher in the Shadows, The 2013 S/O13 4
Rouss, Sylvia A., Iosa, Ann Watermelon in the Sukkah, A 2013 S/O13 14
Burstein, Chaya M. Wats an Israel? N/D 83 10
Gillman, Neil Way into Encountering God in Judaism, The 2000 S/O 01 13
Hoffman, Lawrence A. Way into Jewish Prayer, The 2000 S/O 01 15
Benstein, Jeremy Way into Judaism and the Environment, The 2007 S/O 07 44
Fishman, Sylvia Barack Way into the Varieties of Jewishness 2007 The Way Into Series S/O 07 47
Dorff, Elliot N. Way into Tikkun Olam, The 2005 Repairing the World M/J 06 25
Cohen, Norman J. Way Into Torah, The 2000 S/O 01 10
Harris, Constance Way Jews Lived: Five Hundred Years of Printed Word and Images, The 2009 M/J 10 33
Jaffe, Nina Way Meat Loves Salt, The: A Cinderella Tale from the Jewish Tradition 1998 F/M 99 18
Hoffman, Edward Way of Splendor: Jewish Mysticism and Modern Psychology (updated 25th ed.), The 2007 Jewish Mysticism and Modern Psychology S/O 08 24
Winkler, Gershon Way of the Boundary Crosser, The: An Introduction to Jewish Flexidoxy 1998 S/O 98 30-31
Shulman, Goldie, Romanenko, Vitaliy Way too Much Challah Dough 2006 N/D 06 13-14
Ginsburg, Bernard L. Wayfarer in a World in Upheaveal, A 1993 Studies in Judaica and the Holocaust, 12 F/M 95 19
Tower, Stuart F. Wayfarers, The 2003 S/O 04 10
Weizman, Janice Wayward Moon, The 2012 S/O13 49
Cassedy, Ellen We Are Here: Memories of the Lithuanian Holocaust 2012 M/J13 21
Rosenbloom, Fiona We Are So Chrashing Your Bar Mitzvah! 2007 S/O 07 17
Borchard, Ruth We are Strangers Here: An Enemy Alien in Prison in 1940 2008 F/M 09 20
Kacer, Kathy We Are Their Voice: Young People Respond to the Holocaust 2012 FM13 9
Boas, Jacob We Are Witnesses: The Diaries of Five Teenagers Who Died in the Holocaust 1995 N/D 95 17
Liphshitz, Arye, Louvish, Misha We Built Jerusalem: Tales of Pioneering Days 1985 S/O 85 3
Thompson, Gare We Came Through Ellis Island: The Immigrant Adventures of Emma Markowitz 2003 I Am American Series S/O 03 47-48
Zoldan, Yael We Can Do Mitzvos Around the Jewish Year 2014 M/J 15 16 Pastcan, Ben
Zoldan, Yael, Allen, Shira We Can Do Mitzvos from Aleph to Tav 2009 F/M 10 19
Rosenfeld, Dina H., Wummer, Amy We Can Find A Way: A Hachnosas Orchim Inclusion Story 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levitan, Rebecca Book Juvenile
Hughes, Susan, Ohm-Ericksen, Cecilia We Celebrate Hanukkah 1986 Bobbie Kalman The Holidays and Festival Series M/J 87 6
Heller, David We Gave the World Moses and Bagels: Art and Wisdom of Jewish Children 2000 F/M 01 13
Rosenzweig, Efraim M. We Jews O 79 6
Steinsaltz, Adin We Jews: Who are We and What Should We Do? 2005 S/O 05 52-53
Rifai, Amal We Just Want to Live Here: A Palestinian Teenager, an Israeli Teenager an Unlikely Friendship 2003 F/M 04 41
Levine, Gemma We Live in Israel S/O 84 10
Shabi, Rachel We Look Like the Enemy: The Hidden Story of Israels Jews from Arab Lands 2008 N/D 10 23-24
Sofer, Rachel We Need to Talk: What Happens When Looking Thin Becomes an Obsesion 2008 S/O 09 18
Adler, David A. We Remember the Holocaust 1989 M/J 90 14
Diner, Hasia R. We Remember with Reverence and Love: American Jews and the Myth of Silence After the Holocaust, 1945-1962 2009 N/D 09 21
Zim, Paul We Shall Live: Yiddish Songs of the Holocaust (AUDIO) 1990 S/O 94 12
Lieberman, Allan We Want Mashgiach Now! Tales from a Kosher Cop 2018 N/D 2019 26 Sukenic, Harvey Book Adult
Carlson, Lewis H. We Were Each Others Prisoners: An Oral History of World War II: American and German Prisoners of War 1997 S/O 97 6
Freedman, Russell We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement that Defied Adolf Hitler 2016 S/O 2016 35 Krasner, Barbara
Zediker, Rose Ross Wealth in Biblical Times 2010 S/O 09 14
Hasan-Rokem, Galit, Stein, Batya Web of Life: Folklore and Midrash in Rabbinic Literature 2000 S/O 01 14
Strom, Yale, Prosmitsky, Jenya Wedding that Saved a Town, The 2008 S/O 08 53
Mason, Paul Weddings 2004 Rites of Passage Series S/O 04 53
Kemelman, Harry Wednesday the Rabbi Got Wet 1976 W76 17
Feldman, Daniel Z., Halpern, Stuart W. Weekday Prayers: Essays / by the Rabbis & Professors of Yeshiva University, The 2014 F/M 16 9 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Tabory, Binyamin Weekly Mitzva 2016 S/O 2016 18 Gordon, Ilka
Sandell, Lisa Ann Weight of the Sky, The 2006 F/M 06 19
Gaines, Ann, Witing, Jim Weinberg and the Search for the Cause of Cancer 2002 Unlocking the Secrets of Science M/J 04 30-31
Prudovsky, Leon, Yacov-Mecklberg, Estee, Mecklberg, Haim Welcome and ... Our Condolences (VIDEO) 2012 S/O13 50-51
Wolner, Tzipie Welcome Back, Madame Chamberlaine 2018 M/J 2019 11 Pinchuk, Chava Book Juvenile
Schemenauer, Elma Welcome to Israel 2008 Welcome to the World Series N/D 07 21-22
Sonnheim, Moshe Welcome to the Club: The Art of Jewish Grandparenting 2004 F/M 05 24
Shenker, Louis Sussman Welcome to the Family! Opening Doors to the Jewish Experience 2001 N/D 02 15-16
Olitzky, Kerry M. Welcome to the Seder: A Passover Haggadah for Everyone 2018 M/J 2018 27 Stuhlman, Daniel D. Book Adult
Wolff, Glenn, ill. Welcome to the World: A Jewish Babys Record Book S/O 86 6
Reisman, Arnold Welcome Tomorrow F/M 83 3
Shapiro, Zachary, Davis, Jack E. Were All in the Same Boat 2009 M/J 09 9
Rothstein, Gidon Were Missing the Point: Whats Wrong with the Orthodox Jewish Community and How to Fix it 2012 S/O12 46
Zakutinsky, Ruth, Richter, Sharon Were Really Going Home 1979 Sp80 21

Pages

Word DocumentCSV