Book Review Index

FULL TEXT REVIEWS:

Please note that this index does not link to the full text of the book reviews.
Digital copies of AJL Reviews are available back to the Nov/Dec 2007 issue of the AJL Newsletter.
Earlier print back issues are housed in Cincinnati, OH at the Hebrew Union College Library.

To submit a title for review please read the submission guidelines

Title Author/Editor Series Publisher Yearsort ascending Issue P Review Author
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story Newman, Leslea, Bates, Amy June Abrams Books for Young Readers 2019 M/J 2019 2-3 Bloomfield, Kathy
Raisins and Almonds: A Yiddish Lullaby Tarcov, Susan, Sanchez, Sonia Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 20 Tilman, Ellen
The Buddhist Swastika and Hitler's Cross: Rescuing a Symbol of Peace from the Forces of Hate Nakagaki, T.K. Stone Bridge Press 2019 N/D 2019 27-28 Lieberman, Eli
Long- Haired, Cat-Boy Cub Keret, Etgar, Basil, Aviel, Silverston, Sondra Seven Stories Press 2019 N/D 2019 19 Bloomfield, Kathy
Waste Not, Want Not: Kosher Cookbook Fruchter, Yaffa Ktav 2019 N/D 2019 23-24 Gordon, Ilka
Creation Colors Koffsky, Ann D. Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 3 Malen, Michal Hoschander
The Truth About Leaving Blitt, Natalie Amberjack Publishing 2019 N/D 2019 14 Bloomfield, Kathy
The 100 Most Jewish Foods Newhouse, Alana Artisan 2019 N/D 2019 28 Gordon, Ilka
Mitzvah Pizza Scheerger, Sarah Lynn, Melmon, Deborah Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 16 Tilman, Ellen
Site of Amnesia: The Lost Historical Consciousness of Mizrahi Jewry Golan, Yvonne Kozlovsky Brill 2019 N/D 2019 24 Levy, David B.
Wait! It's Friday Barash, Chris, Grove, Christine Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 21 Cole, Ellen
Kissing Ezra Holtz( and Other Things I Did For Science) Shrum, Brianna R. Sky Pony Press 2019 N/D 2019 15 Malen, Michal Hoschander
A Dreidel in Time: A New Spin on an Old Tale Berneger, Marcia, Castro, Beatriz Kar Ben 2019 N/D 2019 20 Colodny, Debbie
Understand Judaism Blohm, Craig E. Understanding World Religions Reference Point Press 2019 M/J 2019 17 Bloomfield, Kathy
Long Summer Nights Appelfeld, Aharon, Mintzi, Vali, Green, Jeffrey Seven Stories Press 2019 N/D 2019 10 Krasner, Barbara
Religious Changes and Cultural Transformations in the Early Modern Western Sephardic Communities Kaplan, Yoseph Brill 2019 N/D 2019 24 Levy, David B.
Shabbos Treats: Delightful Stories of Devotion to Our Holy Shabbos Krohn, Genendel, Katz, Tova Feldheim 2019 M/J 2019 21 Isaac, Fred
Someday We Will Fly DeWoskin, Rachel Viking 2019 N/D 2019 15 Dublin, Anne
Josephus in Modern Jewish Culture Schatz, Andrew Studies in Jewish History and culture ;55 Brill 2019 N/D 2019 29 Levy, David B
Chelm for the Holidays Frankel, Valerie, Wimmer, Sonja Kar Ben 2019 N/D 2019 20-21 Glasser, Rachel
Saving Hanno: The Story of a Refugee Dog Halahmy, Miriam Holiday House 2019 M/J 2019 12-13 Krasner, Barbara
The Jewish Spiritual Path: The Way of the Name Golding, Joshua L. Urim Publications 2019 M/J 2019 28 Kohn, Roger S.
A Whale of a Tale Kimmel, Eric A., Stevanovic, Ivica Scarlett and Sam Kar Ben 2019 N/D 2019 10-11 Bloomfield, Kathy
Shadow Strike: Inside Israel's Secret Mission to Eliminate Syrian Nuclear Power Katz, Yaakov St. Martin's Press 2019 N/D 2019 25 Silverburg, Sanford R.
Matzah Belowstairs Meyer, Susan Lynn, Engell, Mette Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 21-22 Silverman, Lisa
Room For One More Polak, Monique Kar Ben 2019 N/D 2019 16 Flax, Shoshana
Maimonides' Grand Epistle to the Scholars of Lunel: Ideology and Rhetoric Sheer, Charles H. Academic Studies Press 2019 N/D 2019 29 Levy, David B
Shabbat Treasure Goldfinger, Evelyn, Groenman, Marcelo Torahtron 2019 N/D 2019 21 Isaac, Fred
The Cat Who Lived With Anne Frank Miller, David Lee, Rubin, Steven Jay, Baddeley, Elizabeth Philomel Books 2019 M/J 2019 13 Glasser, Rachel
The Brave Cyclist: A True Story of a Holocaust Hero Hoffman, Amalia, Fedele, Chiara Capstone 2019 N/D 2019 11 Cole, Ellen
Horace Kallen Confronts America: Jewish Identity, Science, and Secularism Kaufman, Matthew Syracuse University Press 2019 N/D 2019 25 Isaac, Fred
Aly Raisman: Athlete and Activist Leigh, Anna Lerner 2019 M/J 2019 4-5 McMahon, Martha
Around the Passover Table Newman, Tracy, Santos, Adriana Albert Whitman 2019 M/J 2019 22 Silverman, Lisa
The Girl in the Haystack MacWilliams, Bryon Serving House Books 2019 N/D 2019 16 Bloomfield, Kathy
Hand in Hand Rosenbaum, Andria Warmflash, Shleifer, Maya Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 14 Krasner, Barbara
Anne Frank: Get to Know the Girls Beyond Her Diary Radomski, Kassandra Capstone 2019 M/J 2019 5 Issac, Fred
Jewish Veganism and Vegetarianism: Studies and New Directions Labendz, Jacob Ari, Yanklowitz, Shmuly State University of New York Press 2019 N/D 2019 25-26 Kohn, Roger S.
Esther's Gragger Simpson, Martha Seif, Bernhard, Durga Yael Wisdom Tales 2019 M/J 2019 22 Glasser, Rachel
In the Jerusalem Forest Busheri, Devora, Kelner, Noa Kar Ben 2019 N/D 2019 17 Colodny, Debbie
A New Vision of Southern Jewish History Bauman, Mark K. University of Alabama Press 2019 N/D 2019 21-22 Isaac, Fred
White Rose Wilson, Kip Versify/ Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2019 M/J 2019 14 Krasner, Barbara
Ruth Bader Ginsburg: Get to Know the Justice Who Speaks Her Mind Micklos, John Jr. Capstone 2019 N/D 2019 12 Colodny, Debbie
The King's Horse: A Purim Story Sokol, Leah, Boroda, Joni Aliza Mosaica Press 2019 M/J 2019 23 Chava,Pinchuck
Cardozo on the Parashah: Essays on the Weekly Torah Portion: The Book of Genesis Cardozo, Nathan Lopes Kasva Press 2019 N/D 2019 22 Belinfante, Randall C. & Anne Marie
Martin & Anne: The Kindred Spirits of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Anne Frank Churnin, Nancy, Nayberg, Yevgenia [nid:50827] illustrator Creston Books 2019 M/J 2019 19 Bloomfield, Kathy
One Yellow Daffodil: A Chanukah Story Adler, David A., Katz, Avi Menucha Classroom Solutions 2019 N/D 2019 12-13 Chava,Pinchuck
The Book of Sarah Lightman, Sarah Pennsylvania University Press 2019 N/D 2019 26 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Feeling Better A to Z: A Book About Bikur Cholim Chomer, Malka Nussbaum, Bolton, Bill Hachai Publishing 2019 N/D 2019 17-18 Flax, Shoshana
Palestine Posts: An Eye-Witness Account of the Birth of Israel: Based on Letters of Mordechai Chertoff Chertoff, Daniel S. Toby Press 2019 N/D 2019 22 Silverburg, Sanford R.
Shimri's Big Idea: A Story of Ancient Jerusalem Weber, Elka, Bousidan, Inbal Gigi [nid:52277], illustrator Apples and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 15 Pinchuck, Chava
The Rabbi Slurps Spaghetti Kimmelman, Leslie [nid:11416], , Davey, Sharon Apple and Honey Press 2019 M/J 2019 19 Malen, Michal Hoschander
Masada Will Not Fall Again Greenspan, Sophie JPS 2019 N/D 2019 13 Isaac, Fred
Jerusalem: City of the Book Mack, Merav, Balint,Benjamin Yale University Press 2019 N/D 2019 27 Share, Ellen
The Siege of Tel Aviv Kestin, Hesh DZANC Books 2019 M/J 2019 39 Lieberman, Eli
Bar Mitzvah Boys Uhlberg, Myron, Arcabascio, Carolyn Albert Whitman 2019 N/D 2019 18 Cole, Ellen
Carioca-Bev: The Wartime Record of Major Ralph I. Fine. The Making of a B-24 Liberator Pilot in the Eighth Air Force in Europe During World War II. A Portrait of Courage Fine, Gary M. self-published 2019 N/D 2019 23 Bibel, Barbara M.
Passover Haggadah Graphic Novel Gorfinkel, Jordan B., Erez, Zadok Koren Publishers 2019 M/J 2019 2 Pinchuk, Chava
Simchat Torah is Coming! Newman, Tracy, Garofoli, Viviana Kar Ben 2019 M/J 2019 6-7 McMahon, Martha
Between Iran and Zion: Jewish Histories on Twentieth-Century Iran Sternfled, Lior B. Stanford University Press 2019 M/J 2019 35-36 Simon, Rachel
Max Einstein: Rebels with a Cause Patterson, James, Johnson, Beverly Jimmy Patterson Books 2019 N/D 2019 13 Dublin, Anne
The Holocaust and North Africa Boum, Aomar, Stein, Sarah Abrevaya Stanford University Press 2019 M/J 2019 24-25 Simon, Rachel
Thou Shalt Innovate: How Israeli Ingenuity Repairs The World Jorisch, Avi Gefen 2018 M/J 2019 31 Stein, Marion
Dirty Jewess: A Woman's Courageous Journey to Religious and Political Freedom Fishbaum, Silvia, Coddington, Andrea Urim Publications 2018 F/M 2019 4 Amir, Michlean
A State is Born: The Establishment of the Israeli System of Government, 1947-1951 Fine, Jonathan David, Cohen, Tamar L., Hochstein, Fray State University of New York Press 2018 N/D 2019 23 Cantor, Hallie
Scarlett and Sam Search for the Shamir Kimmel, Eric A., Stevanovic, Ivica Scarlett and Same Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2018 13 Tilman, Ellen
Divrei Mishkan T’filah: Delving into the Siddur Sarason, Richard S. Central Conference of American Rabbis 2018 M/J 2018 28 Smailes, Suzanne
Genealogy and the Librarian: Perspectives on Research, Instruction, Outreach, and Management Smallwood, Carol, Gubnitskaia, Vera McFarland 2018 N/D 2018 33 Dwoskin, Beth
I Go to Sleep Benenfeld, Rikki Hachai 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levine, Joyce
Prodigal children in the house of G-d Taub, Yermiyahu Ahron austin macauley Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 38 Seigel, Amanda
Noah's Art Animal ABCs Scudamore, Angelika Zonderkidz 2018 M/J 2019 7 Kamin, Rachel
The Zionist Ideas: Visions for the Jewish Homeland- Then, Now, Tomorrow Troy, Gil JPS 2018 M/J 2019 36 Levy, David B
Echo Still: Is there more to life than making the team? Tibbits, Tim Green Bean Books 2018 N/D 2019 14 Levitan, Rebecca
Gal Gadot: Soldier, Model, Wonder Woman. Sherman, Jill Gateway Biographies Lerner 2018 M/J 2018 9 Dublin, Anne
Am I My Body's Keeper? Torah, Science, Diet and Fitness- for Life. Kaufman, Michael Urim 2018 N/D 2018 29 Quinn, Arthur G.
Ben and the Bishop Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Davis, Gail Dog Ear Publishers 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.
I Have Lost My Way Forman, Gayle Viking Books for Young Readers 2018 M/J 2019 11 Gershowitz, Elissa
The Jews of Khazaria 3rd Edition Brook, Kevin Alan Rowman & Littlefield 2018 M/J 2019 25 Randall C. Belinfante [nid:51578] and Anne-Marie Belinfante
Everything is Borrowed: A Novel Popkin, Nathaniel New Door Books 2018 M/J 2019 40 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Uprooted: How 3,000 of Jewish Civilization in the Arab World Vanished Overnight Julius, Lyn Valentine Mitchell 2018 M/J 2019 31 Dwoskin, Beth
The Italian Executioners: the Genocide of the Jews of Italy Sullam, Simon Levis, trans. Smyth, Oona, Patane, Claudia Princeton University Pres 2018 N/D 2018 33 Simon, Rachel
We Can Find A Way: A Hachnosas Orchim Inclusion Story Rosenfeld, Dina H., Wummer, Amy Hachai Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 16 Levitan, Rebecca
The World Needs Beautiful Things Berkowitz, Leah Rachel, Fabbri, Daniele Kar Ben 2018 N/D 2018 6-7 Cole, Ellen
Two by Two Stauffer, Lisa Lowe, Scudamore, Angelika Zonderkidz 2018 M/J 2019 7 Tilman, Ellen
A Moon For Moe and Mo Zalben, Jane Breskin, Amini, Mehrdokht Charlesbridge 2018 M/J 2019 20-21 Citrin, Rena
Rabbinic Authority: The Vision and the Reality; Halakhic Family, the Child's Welfare and the Agunah; Beit Din Decisions in English Vol 4 Warburg, A Yehudah Urim Publications 2018 M/J 2019 36 Stuhlman, Daniel D.
Israel Persano, Thomas Countries we come from Bearport 2018 M/J 2018 18 Rapp, Andrea
What's a Grandparent? Trigere, Jane, Vincent, Lu Schoen Books 2018 N/D 2019 19-20 Levitan, Rebecca
Me and My Dog and the Homework Mystery Adler, David A., Ackerman, Dena Me and my dog Menucha Classroom Solutions 2018 M/J 2018 9 Pinchuck, Chava
A Matter of Geography: A New Perspective on Medieval Hebrew Poetry Kfir, Uriah Etudes sur le Judaisme Medieval, 74 Brill 2018 N/D 2018 29 David B. Levy
Passport Control Green, Gila S & H Publishing 2018 M/J 2019 11-12 Stahl, Sheryl F.
Anti-Shechita Prosecutions in the Anglo-American World 1855-1913: A Major Attack on Jewish Freedoms Fraser, David Academic Studies Press 2018 M/J 2019 25-26 Randall C. Belinfante [nid:51578] and Anne-Marie Belinfante
Mother India Reich, Tova Syracuse University Press 2018 M/J 2019 40-41 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
God versus Gods: Judaism in the Age of Idolatry Klein, Reuven Chaim Mosaica Press 2018 M/J 2019 31-32 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
The Virtue of Nationalism Hazony, Yoram Basic Books 2018 F/M 2019 4-5 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Hebrew Fascism in Palestine, 1922-1942 Tamir, Dan Palgrave Macmillan 2018 N/D 2018 33-34 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Where's the Potty on this Ark? Olizky, Kerry, Tompkins, Abigail Kar Ben 2018 M/J 2019 3-4 Tilman, Ellen
Avi for President Koffsky, Ann D. Menucha 2018 M/J 2019 7 Dublin, Anne
Ta'am HaTe'amim or Universal Oral Law: A Hebrew Renaissance Kabbalistic Mission Treatise by Guillaume Postel Weiss, Judith Magnes Press 2018 M/J 2019 37 Levy, David B
The Jewish God Questions: What Jewish Thinkers Have Said about God, the Book, the People, and the Land Pessin, Andrew Rowman & Littlefield 2018 N/D 2019 28 Ben-Gad, Shmuel
Queen Esther: A Bible Story Retold Liberman, Judith Weinshall, Gau Family Studio Dog Ear Publishing 2018 N/D 2018 10-11 Silver, Linda R.

Pages

CSV